NASFAA Task Force to Present Congress with Higher Education Act Policy Recommendations

Contact: Haley Chitty
Director of Communications
(202) 785-6959  

Washington, DC -- Jan. 9, 2012 -- The National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (NASFAA) announced today the formation of a Higher Education Act Reauthorization Task Force. As the 2013 Higher Education Act expiration approaches, the Task Force will consult with NASFAA’s membership and other important groups and agencies to develop recommendations to the NASFAA board on policy issues and specific statutory changes in the federal student aid programs and their delivery systems.

The Higher Education Act (HEA) of 1965, as amended, authorizes the major federal student aid programs. These programs are to be reviewed and "reauthorized" by Congress every five years.

"NASFAA’s Reauthorization Task Force has been reconvened at the request of policymakers, who recognize the important role financial aid practitioners have to play in helping craft federal aid policy," said NASFAA President Justin Draeger. "We are pleased to partner with lawmakers to help set policies that best serve students and address our nation’s economic and workforce needs."

As laid out in the Task Force Charter, the group is charged with producing a set of proposals for the reauthorization of the Higher Education Act that --

  1. Promote access to postsecondary education; and
  2. Provide simplicity, consistency, flexibility, and program integrity in the delivery of student financial aid; and
  3. Represent the diverse needs of the Association and its membership.

"The NASFAA Reauthorization Task Force is constructed of members who represent the different sectors of NASFAA’s membership," said Task Force Chair Bonnie Joerschke, Director of Financial Aid at the University of Georgia. "It will address items of concern and review and compile a set of proposals that will ultimately be presented to the U.S. House Committee on Education and the Workforce and U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions."

Members of the NASFAA Reauthorization Task Force:

  • Bonnie Joerschke (Chair), University of Georgia
  • Thomas Babel, Devry, Inc.
  • George Chin, American Association of State Colleges and Universities
  • Georgette DeVeres, Claremont McKenna College
  • Robert Gamez, Kansas State University
  • Richard Heath, Anne Arundel Community College
  • Patricia Hurley, Glendale Community College
  • Governor Jackson, Texas Woman’s University
  • Mark Lindenmeyer, Loyola University Maryland
  • Craig Munier, University of Nebraska--Lincoln
  • Michael Pede, State University of New York--Upstate Medical University
  • Kay Soltis, Pacific Lutheran University
  • Brent Tener, Vanderbilt University
  • Francisco Valines, Florida International University
  • Laurie Wolf, Des Moines Area Community College


The National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (NASFAA) is a nonprofit membership organization that represents nearly 20,000 financial aid professionals at 2,800 colleges, universities, and career schools across the country. Each year, financial aid professionals help more than 16 million students receive funding for post secondary education. Based in Washington, D.C., NASFAA is the only national association with a primary focus on student aid legislation, regulatory analysis, and training for financial aid administrators. For more information, visit